Bookshelf Tour as of January 2015

DSC_2682
On my shelf: mostly young adult, fantasy and classic novels, souvenirs, etc.

In a shared bedroom with two of my sisters, I was the curator of all things kitsch, cute and considerably unnecessary. My paraphernalia included both curios and recyclable junk but ever since our big move from the suburbs of Quezon City to a high rise residential condominium in Makati, I’ve had to declutter and adapt to a more downsized lifestyle. However much space these books (as well as the other stuff) takes up, I will never sell or give them away because among other hoarded things, this slowly growing collection is what I deem to be most valuable. So, what’s on my shelf? Here is a list of the books and other reading materials on it. I wanted to arrange them by the spines’ colors but I was afraid that this flimsy, cheap shelf which I got at half of the original price, wouldn’t be able to hold balance, thus denying me of my urge to do so. Note: Unread (or unfinished) books are greyed out. Top shelf (L-R):

  1. The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey by Trenton Lee Stewart
  2. The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Prisoner’s Dilemma by Trenton Lee Stewart
  3. Water For Elephants by Sara Gruen
  4. Gone by Hugh Grant
  5. Lies by Hugh Grant
  6. Plague by Hugh Grant
  7. Othello by William Shakespeare
  8. People of the Lie by M. Scott Peck
  9. Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
  10. Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss
  11. My Brother, My Executioner by Francisco Sionil José
  12. How to Excel in Law School by Jim V. Lopez
  13. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
  14. The Tempest by William Shakespeare
  15. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  16. Peter and the Starcatchers by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson
  17. Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe
  18. Learn to Earn by Peter Lynch and author John Rothchild
  19. Perfume by Patrick Süskind
  20. Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov
  21. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
  22. IQ and Aptitude Tests by Philip Carter
  23. The Official Pokemon Handbook: Deluxe Collecters’ Edition by Maria Barbo
  24. After Eden by Arnold Arre

Second Shelf (L-R, and top to bottom):

  1. A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin
  2. A Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin
  3. A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin
  4. A Feast for Crows by George R. R. Martin
  5. A Dance with Dragons by George R. R. Martin
  6. Les Misérables by Victor Hugo
  7. Daily Mail: All New Quick Crosswords 3 by Hamlyn Octopus

Third Shelf (L-R):

  1. The Complete Sherlock Holmes (Barnes & Noble Collectible Editions) by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  2. Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
  3. The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick
  4. The Simpsons Handbook: Secret Tips from the Pros by Doris Grau and Marcia Mitzman Gaven

Not in photo:

  1. The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart
  2. Hunger by Hugh Grant
  3. Mary Poppins by P.L. Travers
  4. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë
  5. Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie

I know this is far from being a comprehensive collection — I only started 2011– but I expect that (at least three) new books find their space here every year. I hope you spotted a current read or a favourite one, dear non-existent reader. And if you do have any book recommendations, let me know. Also, thanks to RiaN for helping me assemble the shelf, and arrange the books!

3 thoughts on “Bookshelf Tour as of January 2015

Leave a Reply

