Mom and Tina’s Mocha Buttercreme Cake

IMG_4473As a casual way of celebrating my sister’s birthday–without turning it into a gala affair–we bought her a cake. Mom and Tina’s Bakery and Cafe in Katipunan is usally my go-to place for a quick cupcake or pastry fix, but would I recommend their Mocha Buttercreme Cake? No.

For the record, I am not a fan of buttercream. I do not like its overly silky texture and how it greasy it is, and this is exactly how I would describe this cake’s icing. It was not too sweet though, which I liked. The cake itself was not dry, yet was not moist and fluffy enough for my liking.

At 795PHP (8″), I think you’re better off with another cake for the same price.

Recommendation: Buy the Dulce de Leche Butter Cake instead.

Leave a Reply

